Many many questions, much answers

Image

The album (Link) I submitted to reddit’s r/indiegaming really caught on and I received a ton and ton of questions and a lot of great feedback! Also about a hundred twitter followers, thanks guys!

I tried my best at answering questions there (spending close to 4-5 hours watching Community while answering new questions) and after a while I just had to go to sleep. It gave me an idea though, to answer some of the most frequent questions here on the blog!

I will be adding a specific FAQ page after this blog post when I’ve gathered all my thoughts.

PC? PC/MAC/Linux, other platforms?!

The game will release on PC at first. As I am developing in XNA the dead ancestor of Mono, I will be able to possibly port on to other platforms after the initial release.

Controller Support?

I am currently only developing with the intention of having a mouse & kb controlled player character, but I definitely wouldn’t shut controller support out. Xbox controller inputs are pretty easy to implement, but it’s a different story if I can balance the gameplay-design between these two setups.

Release Date, Pre-alpha, Greenlight? Money!?

There was a lot of interest, both in comments and in private messages to quickly throw money at me for a pre-order. Which would help immensely, but I’m hesitant to do this early (for several reasons).

One reason being, that I need to sort out starting up a company here based in Finland.

Second reason, is that I don’t want to hastily go in to taking money from strangers for a project that’s this early in development. I am however, working very hard to provide a pre-Alpha trailer teaser and a free playable alpha demo of the first level’s sub-dungeons in the coming month. Just to get a lot of early feedback from players & to generate interest for the possible upcoming Greenlight.

As for release date, I think it is way too early to estimate. But if we’re throwing deadlines around, I would like to finish the game by Q3/Q4 of 2014, with the possibility that everything goes more slowly than anticipated and the game is delayed until early 2015.

There’s also some other stuff I can’t yet talk about pre-orders & crowdfunding.

A lot of people offered to help with Music/SFX/Graphics/Marketing

I don’t want to sound like I don’t appreciate it, because I really do. It’s awesome that the community is ready to help other developers.

I however do have a composer that I’m working with, for both soundtrack and sound effects. If you however are willing to be on the “just-incase” list you can email me your info/some concept/samples to waldirgame@gmail.com ! I do look through my emails pretty frequently and will take in to consideration if something were to go wrong with my musician at the moment.

The issues raised by the logo are legit, and I really appreciate all the feedback & help offers I’ve gotten for it. I would still like to work on it by myself for a while (redesigning, trying out different things) just because I have a hunger to develop my skills further. You can still keep emailing portfolios & concepts to waldirgame@gmail.com if I happen to decide that I absolutely can not do it by myself!

Plans for the near future:

Like I said, working on the teaser, and finishing up content I’ve been due for a short while now. Drawing bosses/minibosses, implementing the sub-weapons and tweaking the level generation.

I’m entering some very exciting times and really love to be sharing it with you guys! Keep peace and prosper… or something.

Image

Just to remind myself, this picture was taken 28th of December 2013… Yeah

Leave a Reply

